Year C – The Commemoration of All the Faithful Departed (All Souls Day) – Dies irae – November 2, 2013

purgatory

Dies irae

Latin and English poetic translation

Dies iræ! Dies illa Day of wrath and doom impending,
Solvet sæclum in favilla: David’s word with Sibyl’s blending,
Teste David cum Sibylla! Heaven and earth in ashes ending!

Quantus tremor est futurus, Oh, what fear man’s bosom rendeth,
Quando iudex est venturus, When from heaven the Judge descendeth,
Cuncta stricte discussurus! On whose sentence all dependeth.

Tuba mirum spargens sonum Wondrous sound the trumpet flingeth;
Per sepulchra regionum, Through earth’s sepulchres it ringeth;
Coget omnes ante thronum. All before the throne it bringeth.

Mors stupebit, et natura, Death is struck, and nature quaking,
Cum resurget creatura, All creation is awaking,
Iudicanti responsura. To its Judge an answer making.

Liber scriptus proferetur, Lo! the book, exactly worded,
In quo totum continetur, Wherein all hath been recorded:
Unde mundus iudicetur. Thence shall judgment be awarded.

Iudex ergo cum sedebit, When the Judge his seat attaineth,
Quidquid latet, apparebit: And each hidden deed arraigneth,
Nil inultum remanebit. Nothing unavenged remaineth.

Quid sum miser tunc dicturus? What shall I, frail man, be pleading?
Quem patronum rogaturus, Who for me be interceding,
Cum vix iustus sit securus? When the just are mercy needing?

Rex tremendæ maiestatis, King of Majesty tremendous,
Qui salvandos salvas gratis, Who dost free salvation send us,
Salva me, fons pietatis. Fount of pity, then befriend us!

Recordare, Iesu pie, Think, kind Jesu! -my salvation
Quod sum causa tuæ viæ: Caused thy wondrous Incarnation;
Ne me perdas illa die. Leave me not to reprobation!

Quærens me, sedisti lassus: Faint and weary, thou hast sought me,
Redemisti Crucem passus: On the Cross of suffering bought me.
Tantus labor non sit cassus. Shall such grace be vainly brought me?

Iuste iudex ultionis, Righteous Judge! for sin’s pollution
Donum fac remissionis Grant Thy gift of absolution,
Ante diem rationis. Ere the day of retribution.

Ingemisco, tamquam reus: Guilty, now I pour my moaning,
Culpa rubet vultus meus: All my shame with anguish owning;
Supplicanti parce, Deus. Spare, O God, thy suppliant groaning!

Qui Mariam absolvisti, Through the sinful woman shriven,
Et latronem exaudisti, Through the dying thief forgiven,
Mihi quoque spem dedisti. Thou to me a hope hast given.

Preces meæ non sunt dignæ: Worthless are my prayers and sighing,
Sed tu bonus fac benigne, Yet, good Lord, in grace complying,
Ne perenni cremer igne. Rescue me from fires undying!

Inter oves locum præsta, With Thy sheep a place provide me,
Et ab hædis me sequestra, From the goats afar divide me,
Statuens in parte dextra. To Thy right hand do thou guide me.

Confutatis maledictis, While the wicked are confounded,
Flammis acribus addictis: Doomed to flames of woe unbounded
Voca me cum benedictis. Call me with thy saints surrounded.

Oro supplex et acclinis, Low I kneel, with heart submission,
Cor contritum quasi cinis: See, like ashes, my contrition;
Gere curam mei finis. Help me in my last condition.

Lacrimosa dies illa, Ah! that day of tears and mourning!
qua resurget ex favilla From the dust of earth returning
Iudicandus homo reus. Man for judgment must prepare him;
Huic ergo parce, Deus: Spare, O God, in mercy spare him!

Pie Iesu Domine, Lord, all-pitying, Jesus blest,
dona eis requiem. Grant them thine eternal rest.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

